Makers Dozen

Learning to knit – or rather knitting something I want to wear – is something I have been meaning to do for a while. So, having found myself a pattern for a snood, and bought myself some lovely wool, I have finally got going on it.

My snood in progress

My snood in progress

The snood wraps round your neck twice so I need to get it to about 130cm. It’s good practice as  it’s the first time I have followed a pattern and I know I will be thrilled when it’s finished.

Talking of knitting, at our village Meeting Point (a monthly community drop in in our village hall) on Saturday a lady called Lucy Hart came along teaching us how to knit little hats for premature babies in York Hospital’s Special Care Baby Unit.

IMG_5481

Busy knitters at the village Meeting Point

Lucy founded the charity, Makers Dozen, whose Christmas challenge is to send at least 200 santa hats to the babies at York SCBU. They have already sent thousands of knitted items out to special care baby units thanks to their community of enthusiastic knitters. We all had fun learning a new skill, including the boys and even my husband, who was very adept at using the knitting loom that Lucy had brought in to make the hats.

A knitting loom

A knitting loom

Hurrah! A finished hat

Well done to my husband David – his contribution to Makers Dozen

No excuse now not to pick up the needles! And for a good cause too. Oh, and to finish that snood by spring…

Leave a Reply

