Lunch at Farm and some Country Living

I wouldn’t have come across Farm Wholefoods & Bistro in Harrogate if I hadn’t seen a photo of its stylish interior on Instagram. I got searching as to its whereabouts.

IMGP2565

Farm is situated above a tiny whole food store on Harrogate’s Oxford Street. To get to it you go through a door at the side of the shop, up a rustic wooden staircase which opens out into a big a spacious dining area.

IMGP2563

Vintage furniture and quirky accessories give Farm a welcoming feel. The menu is extensive and includes all day breakfasts, lunches using locally-sourced ingredients, the most delicious cakes (I recommend the pistachio and raspberry cake) and perfectly brewed tea.

IMGP2572

As I was drinking black tea, I had to keep my eye on the black egg timer to brew it to perfection – and it worked! Bliss. My perfect cup of tea.

This friendly, family-run bistro ticks all the boxes – great food, super-friendly service, reasonable prices, stylish decor and a warm atmosphere.

We ended up here by chance as my mum and I were on our way to the Country Living Fair in Harrogate, only to find there was a power cut at the International Centre so everyone had been evacuated. We therefore had time to kill while we waited for power to be restored – I remembered the photo I had seen of Farm – so off we went to find it.

IMGP2573

Although our day at the Country Living Fair was curtailed we had a great afternoon, met some lovely traders and saw some beautiful and inspiring stalls showcasing some stunning Christmas decorations and lovely Christmas present ideas.

Alongside these were some quite quirky stalls. Some of my favourites amongst these were Chequered Chicken (vintage railway style hand drawn digital prints), Katie Kid (handcrafted textiles including iPad, glasses, phone cases), the wrapper (an ingenious sandwich wrap made with help from inmates at Kilmarnock Prison) , Flibberty (den making kits for kids), Spare Time (fabric family trees, cushions etc), Re-Uz (eco reusable bags).

I admire these small independent businesses who on any other day would be in their workshops or studios busily creating and coming up with fresh ideas. It can’t be easy when so much is mass manufactured now. I am always keen to support these makers if I can – and it’s nice to have something that is a little more unique and original to take home with you.

Leave a Reply

